River-Sitting

My favorite spot in the mountains is in the Tremont Institute.  Tremont is a place that offers day camps for kids, as well as back-country camping and hiking.  But that’s not what I’m there for.  I go there to river-sit.

tremont 1
Where I go to get my tan.

My favorite summer activity can be summed up as this: going to my secret spot in the river, with or without company, and tossing my chair out into the water.  I then proceed to sit there.  Its a relatively cheap hobby that requires absolutely no experience.  All you need is a chair and few hours to kill.

The best part about my secret spot is that I can spend eight hours there and never see another human being.  Occasionally, I’ll take friends and we spend the day reading, chatting, eating and dozing in and out of consciousness.  Sometimes, if its hot enough we’ll drive back down to Townsend to get ice cream or shakes from The Burgermaster. 

Although it’s only about a 30 minute drive to get to Tremont, it’s easy to feel like you are completely removed from civilization.  There’s no cell signal, and that only adds to the seclusion of the park.  And yes, there are snakes, but as long as you leave them alone, they’ll ignore you.

Everyone needs their own secret spot to go to, which is why I’m not giving directions to mine.  Getting out there and exploring the park is half the fun, and maybe if you’re lucky, you’ll find your own spot in the mountains.

Leave a Reply

